Are you thinking about restarting your cosmetology career in Texas? Perhaps you took time off to explore other career options, raise a family or to pursue other personal dreams. The great thing about cosmetology is that you can always come back to it, even if you have spent a little time way. After you've made the decision to resume your beauty career, you need to reactivate your expired Texas cosmetology license. What do you do?
Well, according to the Occupations Code, Chapter 51, Subchapter H, it depends upon how long your license has been expired.
- If your license expired less than 90 days ago, you can renew your license by getting the required Texas cosmetology continuing education hours and paying 1 ½ times the required renewal fee.
- If your license expired more than 90 days ago, but less than 18 months ago, you can renew your license by getting the required continuing education hours and paying 2 times the required renewal fee.
- If your license expired more than 18 months ago, but less than 3 years ago, there is another step. You must received approval to renew your expired license from the executive director by submitting the request form to renew an expired cosmetology license. The form requires you to give basic personal information, update your criminal history and provide a reason why you did not renew your license before it expired. You must submit a late fee of 2 times the required renewal fee with the form. When you submit the form, you must pay a non-refundable late fee of 2 times the required renewal fee. You must also take the required continuing education hours prior to the issuance of your renewed cosmetology license.
- Unfortunately, if your license expired more than 3 years ago, you cannot renew it. You have to get a new license by complying with the requirements and procedures, including the examination requirements, for obtaining an original license.
The lesson here is not to let your cosmetology license expire. It’s a whole lot simpler to maintain your license than it is to reinstate it once it has been expired for a long period of time. The TDLR has reduced the required continuing education hours from 6 to 4, so it’s easier than ever to get your cosmetology CE.
If you do decide to take a break from cosmetology, rather than letting your license expire, put your license on inactive status, as the TDLR allows, by taking the following steps:
- Submit an application for inactive status before your cosmetology license expires.
- Pay the required license renewal fee. You do not have to take continuing education while your license is inactive.
Before your inactive license expires, you can reapply for inactive status and pay the required fee. To return your license to active status, all you have to do is:
- While your license is expired or inactive, you are not allowed to work as a cosmetologist. If you are caught working with an expired or inactive license, you will face heavy penalties.
- Be sure to review the license reinstatement requirements on the TDLR’s website before taking any action to renew your license to make sure there have not been any rule changes.